The Board

The Board represents the Union of Professional Engineers and prepares the matters to be decided on by the Assembly, and implements the decisions of the Assembly. The Board directs the union’s activities on the basis of Assembly decisions and also decides on current matters within its jurisdiction. The term of office of the current Board lasts until the Assembly in autumn 2023.

The activities and jurisdiction of the Board are laid down in the rules of the Union of Professional Engineers and the Statute of the Administration. The term of office for the Board and their deputy members is four years.

The Board meets about 10 to 12 times per year.

Chairman of the Union of Professional Engineers

The Assembly elects a Chairman from among the members of the Union of Professional Engineers, whose term of office is four years. The Chairman performs his/her duties full-time and is the Chairman of the Board of Directors of the union and responsible for the union’s labor market activities.

The current Chairman is Samu Salo (2016-).

Vice-Chairman of the Union of Professional Engineers

The Union of Professional Engineers has three Vice-Chairmans, who are elected by the Assembly for a term of four years. The mandates of the Vice-Chairmans were confirmed for the next four years at the 2019 Spring Assembly. Timo Härmälä was elected for a first Vice-Chairman (Membership).

The current Vice-Chairmans are:

  • Timo Härmälä, the First Vice-Chairman (Membership).
  • Jyrki Kopperi (Lobbying)
  • Kari Laitinen (engineering)

Members of the Board

Chairman of the Board
Samu Salo
tel. 0201 801 810
samu.salo@ilry.fi

The First Vice-Chairman of the Board
Timo Härmälä
tel. 040 513 5988
timo.harmala@ilry.fi
Personal Deputy Member: : Jari Opas

Vice-Chairman of the Board
Jyrki Kopperi
tel. 040 833 0633
jyrki.kopperi@ilry.fi
Personal Deputy Member: Roger Sandström

Vice-Chairman of the Board
Kari Laitinen
tel. 050 556 8501
kari.laitinen@ilry.fi
Personal Deputy Member: Arto Sepponen

Member of the Board
Janne Juujärvi
tel. 040 5397 606
janne.juujarvi@ilry.fi
Personal Deputy Member: Bari Beshar

Member of the Board
Perttu Mukkala
tel. 044 378 7538
perttu.mukkala@ilry.fi
Personal Deputy Member: Ari Viiala

Member of the Board
Jani Pelkonen
tel. 050 5985 349
jani.pelkonen@ilry.fi
Personal Deputy Member: Jari Vihervirta

Member of the Board
Aki Pöyry
tel. 045 1173 331
aki.poyry@ilry.fi
Personal Deputy Member: Kalle Kaipainen

Member of the Board
Tiina-Maria Siipola
tel. 050 4821 330
tiina-maria.siipola@ilry.fi
Personal Deputy Member:

Member of the Board
Mikko Wikstedt
tel. 040 1902 224
mikko.wikstedt@ilry.fi
Personal Deputy Member: Tuomas Hara

Representatives of IOL on the Board of the Union of Professional Engineers

Member of the Board
Teemu Rajala
tel. 040 558 6227
teemu.rajala@iol.fi
Personal Deputy Member: Tuomo Hartikainen

Personal deputy members of the Board

Personal Deputy Member of Member of the Board (Juujärvi)
Bari Beshar
tel. 040 729 5154
bari@beshar.fi

Personal Deputy Member of Member of the Board (Wikstedt)
Tuomas Hara
tel. 050 5325 789
tuomash@gmail.com

Personal Deputy Member of Member of the Board (Pöyry)
Kalle Kaipainen
tel. 043 8271 041
kalle.kaipainen@vantaa.fi

Personal Deputy Member of Member of the Board (Härmälä)
Jari Opas
tel. 040 083 2486
jari.opas@gmail.com

Personal Deputy Member of Member of the Board (Rajala)
Tuomo Hartikainen
tel. 040 507 6167
tuomp.hartikainen@iol.fi

Personal Deputy Member of Member of the Board
Roger Sandström
tel. 040 7728 863
roger.sandström@tietoala.fi

Personal Deputy Member of Member of the Board (Laitinen)
Arto Sepponen
tel. 044 337 0230
arto@sepponen.fi

Personal Deputy Member of Member of the Board
Jari Vihervirta
tel. 044 739 1395
jvihervirta@gmail.com

Personal Deputy Member of Member of the Board (Mukkala)
Ari Viiala
tel. 050 5927 782
ari.viiala@caverion.com